Symposium 2018-07-10T01:57:15+00:00

Programme for FGSB Symposium 2018


23rd July 2018 (Monday)

0800 – 0900
0900 – 0945
Registration/Poster setup
Opening Ceremony
- Doa recital
- National anthem and Putra Gemilang
- Silat performance
- Welcoming remarks by Chairperson of the Organising Committee
  Assoc. Prof. Dr. Janna Ong Abdullah
- Opening speech by Vice Chancellor of UPM
  Prof. Datin Paduka Dato' Dr. Aini Ideris
- Photography Session

945 – 1045
Keynote Lecture
Chairperson: Prof. Dr. Ho Chai Ling

Prof. Dr. Takashi Yamamoto (Hiroshima University, Japan)
Basics of genome editing and biased genome editing using the LoAD system in cultured cells and organisms
1045 – 1115Refreshment

1115 – 1145

1145 – 1210

1210 – 1235
Symposium Session I:
Chairperson: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Adam Leow Thean Chor

Plenary 1
Prof. Dr. Yoshiki Higuchi (University of Hyogo, Japan)

Aiming towards comprehensive structural chemistry on [NiFe]-hydrogenases

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Normi Yahaya (UPM)
Structure and function analyses of copper sensor protein from Geobacillus zalihae strain T1

Dr. Cahyo Budiman (UMS, Malaysia)
NMR-based structural analysis and high throughput screening of inhibitors of FKBP35 of Plasmodium knowlesi
1235 – 1300
1300 – 1400
Poster Viewing

1400 – 1430

1430 – 1500

1500 – 1525

1525 – 1550

1550 – 1615
Symposium Session II:
Chairperson: Dr. Siti Sarah Othman

Plenary 2
Prof. Dr. Dave Edwards (The University of Western Australia)

Plant functional genomics: from data to crops

Plenary 3
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Wanwipa Vongsangnak (Kasetsart University, Thailand)

Fungal systems biology to uncover the network of life

Prof. Dr. Abdul Rahman Omar (UPM, Malaysia)
Bursal transcriptome analysis of immune response genes in six different inbred chicken lines following infection with infectious bursal disease virus

Ms. Yap Wai-Sum (UCSI, Malaysia)
Genetic architecture of an Orang Asli sub-tribe, Jakun (Proto-Malay) from Southern of Peninsular Malaysia as revealed by whole genome sequence

Ms. Farahani Muhammad Azam (UPM, Malaysia)
Antigenic outer membrane proteins prediction of Pasteurella multocida serotype B:2

1615 – 1700
1700 – 1715
Poster Viewing & Judging Session

24th July 2018 (Tuesday)

0900 – 0930

0930 – 1000

1000 – 1025

1025 – 1050
Symposium Session III:
Chairperson: Dr. Fairolniza Mohd Shariff

Plenary 4
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mohd Firdaus Raih (UKM, Malaysia)

Applications for the computational comparisons of 3D motifs in bio-macromolecular structures

Dr. Adrian Chek Min Fey (NAIST, Japan)
Structural studies of the catalytic domain of PHA synthase from Chromobacterium sp.

Dr. Noor Dina binti Muhd Noor (UPM, Malaysia)
Improved purification, crystallization and crystallographic study of Hyd-2-type [NiFe]-hydrogenase from Citrobacter sp. S-77

Dr. Sofia B. Mohamed (National University Research Institute, Sudan)
Molecular modelling study of anti-apoptotic BCL-2 (B cell lymphoma 2) and molecules from anticancer herbs in India: A virtual screening, molecular docking and simulations study
1050 – 1100Refreshment

1110 – 1140

1140 – 1210

1210 – 1235

1235 – 1255
Symposium Session IV:
Chairperson: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Noorjahan Banu Mohamed Alitheen

Plenary 5
Prof. Dr. Abhimanyu Veerakumarasivam (Sunway University, Malaysia)

Cancer transcriptomics: translating profiles into phenotypic insights

Invited Lecture
Dr. Shifeng Cheng (BGI-Shenzhen, China)

Big data in plant genomics - Why we need a biodiverse sequencing now?

Ms. Boo Sook Yee (UPM, Malaysia)
Gene expression study of innate immune response of 28-4 + intraepithelial lymphocyte natural killer cells to infectious bursal disease virus

Ms. Sarintip Nguantad (Kasetsart University, Thailand)
Analysis of the differentially expressed genes in the male and female fireflies Sclerotia aquatilis using RNA-seq
1255 – 1415Lunch
1415 – 1530
Mini Group Discussion and Networking Session with Invited Speakers

Mini Group 1: Genome Editing
Panel member: Prof. Dr. Takashi Yamamoto
Coordinator: Dr. Nurulfiza Mat Isa
Venue: Angsana Putra 1

Mini Group 2: Structural Biology
Panel members: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mohd Firdaus Raih and Prof. Dr. Raja Noor Zaliha Raja Abd. Rahman
Coordinator: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Normi Mohd Yahya
Venue: Angsana Putra 2

Mini Group 3: Functional Genomics (Plants)
Panel member: Prof. Dr. Dave Edwards
Coordinator: Dr. Nur Fatihah Mohd. Yusoff
Venue: Wacana Putra 2

Mini Group 4: Functional Genomics (Microbes)
Panel member: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Wanwipa Vongsangnak
Coordinator: Prof. Dr. Abdul Rahman Omar
Venue: Wacana Putra 3

Mini Group 5: Functional Genomics (Animals/Human)
Panel member: Prof. Dr. Abhimanyu Veerakumarasivam
Coordinator: Dr. Nik Mohd Afizan Bin Nik Abd Rahman
Venue: Wacana Putra 4
1530 – 1600Prize giving ceremony for the best posters by Director of Excellence Planning Division for Higher Education Institutes,
Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Education
YBhg. Prof. Dr. Raha Abdul Rahim

Closing remarks by Dean of Faculty of Graduate Studies and Scientific Research, NUSU
Prof. Dr. Mohamed Mohd. Ahmed Elnour
1600 – 1630Refreshment